Library Uses Blog as Website

Here’s another example of a library that has made its blog its website. The only thing I don’t like about this site is that you really have to hunt to find the links to the card catalog. Then when you click on the link, you leave the blog. They might consider making the link to the catalog and databases each their own page so that they would have a prominent tab across the top. Then have the link open in a new window. My two cents. However, I am impressed with the rest of the site!

Stillwater Free Library » Welcome Home!

6 Responses

  1. Thank you Mr. Gonzales for using our website and giving us suggestions. I am the Director of this library and it is so nice to be noticed. Again, thank you for using our Library as an example.

  2. Hi Rhonda,

    I agree with your assessment of the card catalog. Since your suggestion (and my shame) I have made them more pronounced. The problem is that in creating such interfaces, the public almost always prefers visual to text, but our system’s current icons are nasty, so I opted to search around a bit more. (I suppose I should have mentioned I did this blog/site…)

    The other thing you suggest – with the pages opening within the context of the blog – is something I hadn’t thought of at all and I am entranced by the idea. I am still a grad student and work full time at Stillwater Free Library – but I haven’t gotten that far in terms of advnaced coding. Perhaps you know of an online tutorial?

    Thanks for all of the suggestions. Feedback is always appreciated, and thankfully often immediate.

    Another concern of mine was affording the techno-phobes an immediate stepstool in using our site (hence the static front page). I would much rather see the newest event right on the front page, but as our town of 7500 patrons are mainly not internet savvy, I felt that a common page with strict guidance, available every time they need it, was better initially. Would you have any thoughts on catering to the majority like this?

    Thanks again,
    Sara Kipp

  3. Hi Sara,

    I certainly didn’t intend my comments to be a criticism. In fact, I was very impressed with your site and only meant to make helpful suggestions. I think the idea of using a blog for a website has a lot of merit because of the ease of keeping it updated and fresh.

    I do think the addition of the icons makes the links more noticeable.

    As to opening links in a new window, what sort of blogging software are you using? In WordPress for example, when I enter a link, I can choose whether I want it to open in the same or in a different window. However, in Blogger, I haven’t been able to figure out how to do that. In straight html, you can simply add a target=”blank” to your link.

    Great job and best of luck!

    Rhonda

  4. hey again,

    No criticism taken. Its one thing to sit around and design something for the people you know for very well, yet do not really understand all of the cool bits. Its another thing entirely to get feed back from (future) colleagues. Thanks!

    We use word press. I went with target=”_blank” for now but I am still trying to play with it. Thanks for that too… Sara

  5. visit us!
    newsbox.cc
    newsbox.us
    nbstatus.wordpress.com
    NOW!

Leave a Reply

