Serendipity and RSS

In this post on ACRLog, StevenB, discusses how new technology is resulting in loss of serendipity for our patrons. He goes on to suggest some ways in which serendipity might be built into library catalog searching. In my opinion, some of his suggestions are similar to features already being used by Amazon.com. Its links to titles also purchased by people who have purchased the book I’m buying has led me in lots of interesting directions in the past.

In addition to that, I want to chime in and say that it’s been my experience that my blog aggregator is a great serendipity facilitator. Almost every day, as I click on someone’s blog, I’m led to another blog of interest. In fact, for me, that’s one of the main attractions of blogging. It’s a habit forming serendipitous experience! Thanks for the thoughts Steven.

Serendipity And The Digital Library
As our academic libraries grow increasingly digital we will be removing opportunities for old-style serendipity. Now is a good time to start thinking about ways in which we can inject the value of serendipitous discovery into our research resources.

Leave a Reply

