SirsiDynixInstitute.com

Hi Everyone,

I hope you all had a relaxing and restorative break; I certainly did and definitely felt ready to get back to work this week and tackle a whole host of projects! Which was a good thing, because that is what I seem to be doing. I’ve been in non-stop meetings since I got back, which partially explains why I haven’t been posting!

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to listen to a presentation via the Sirsi Dynix Institute. This is a great series of online seminars and I highly recommend them if you haven’t already taken advantage of one: SirsiDynixInstitute.com

The one I participated in was about “Learning2.0”. I can hear you groaning already. “Another 2.0?” you are thinking. Well, you might like this one. According to the website, “Helene Blowers, Technology Director for the Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County shared insights and best practices around the creation of Learning 2.0, an online self-discovery program designed to encourage staff to explore new technologies (blogs, wikis, podcasts etc.) and reward them for “play.” This was a staff development program she created to help her very large staff learn more about Web2.0 technologies. Her philosophy was to encourage employees, within a guided 7 week framework, to explore new technologies on their own. The results were very positive and empowering for her staff. The best part is that other libraries are invited to make use of the materials she created for her program. Take a look at the presentation at http://www.sirsidynixinstitute.com/seminar_page.php?sid=74.

I promise to post more often, but only, as my colleague Jim Duncan says, when I have something “pithy” to say!

Rhonda

Leave a Reply

