West Long Branch Public Library

I ran across this Web site today that is actually a blog. Do you think this would work for a college library? I think the advantages would include the dynamic nature of the site since you could easily update it. However, I don’t think it’s as intuitive for searching as a traditional Web site. Also, in order to customize the blog sufficiently, I think you’ld need the client version of the blogging software as opposed to the Web version.

West Long Branch Public Library

I think Wikis might have more potential in the long run than blogs for library Web sites.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Rhonda,

    Thanks for mentioning our library website! I did think about the blog vs. wiki choice and came to a conclusion that the blog format would work for us (at least right now!). For a little background on why I made this choice, check out the interview with me that appeared on Library Garden not so long ago:

    http://librarygarden.blogspot.com/2006/09/blog-based-library-websites-interview.html

    We are having great fun with the blog format, as you can see. Our programming initiative is way up since we now have a fun way to promote all that is going on at the library!

    Thanks again for the shout-out!

    David Lisa
    Director
    West Long Branch Public Library
    West Long Branch, NJ

  2. Hi David,

    I’m glad you read my post. I was very impressed with your site and hope you didn’t mind my musings on the relative merits of blogs vs. wikis. Keep up the good work!

    Rhonda

Leave a Reply

